تحت رعاية صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان رئيس دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

Under the Patronage of H.H. Sheikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, President of The United Arab Emirates

Supported by

LNGWebinar

ADIPEC Webinar: LNG supply and demand, project developments and investment opportunities: preparing for the future

TUESDAY 29 SEPTEMBER | 3PM UAE | 12PM BST | 7AM EST | 6AM CST | 4:30PM IST | 7PM SGT

On Demand webinar

WEBINAR OVERVIEW

With a positive looking start to 2020 and long-term LNG demand expected to grow year-on-year, 2020 was anticipated to be a pivotal year for LNG development.

However, the start of the pandemic brought short and medium-term negative results on gas and LNG market and economic dynamics, which had a knock-on effect on demand, supply cuts and pricing volatility.

In the short-term, 2020 has brought many challenges to project developers who have seen their projects delaying FIDs. Taking a closer look at the Middle East gas and LNG industry, undoubtedly the emergence of FSRUs have successfully paved the way for Middle Eastern countries to import LNG. With new integrated gas projects being developed leading to new opportunities in the regional LNG landscape.

This next ADIPEC Webinar Series will bring together industry experts to discuss the gas and LNG market outlook and the role of gas and LNG in the Middle Eastern and African energy mix.

Discussion topics include: 

  • Which markets are soaking up supply? 
  • How will new developments in Middle Eastern and North African gas production affect LNG demand-supply market dynamics? 
  • How are long-term contract pricing mechanisms evolving?
  • How is the industry attracting investments for gas and LNG projects globally and in particular in the Middle East? 
  • Financing gas and LNG projects: how to secure capital in unpredictable market conditions?

Webinar Key Takeaways

  • COVID-19 had certainly put a kink in the strong growth trajectory of LNG. However, the consensus seems to be that things will likely return to normal in 2-5 years
  • Emerging economies have significant unmet demand but there are several hurdles to overcome to realise the full potential of this demand. Developers (Investors) on the supply side are increasingly becoming aware of these issues and are investing to unlock this pent up demand
  • Temporary oversupply has depressed prices around the world but developers and project financiers are taking a medium to longer-term view
  • The days of mega LNG projects are likely over. There seems to be greater interest and momentum in small scale LNG projects
  • The market seems to have moved to more of a medium-term model. It will be interesting to see how financing in this space evolves without the longer contracts in place, that have been the norm for the past 30 years